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Chapter 1

fajo

1.1 Fajo.guide

The Fajo Collection

The Cards

The Rules
An Article by Warren Holland

Main back to Main Node of STCCG

1.2 STCCG.guide/The Fajo Collection/The Cards

This set consist of the following 18 cards:

1962 Roger Maris Baseball Card Artifact
Black Hole Doorways
Dixon Hill’s Business Card Interrupt/Event
DNA Metamorphosis Dilemma
Dr. Soong Personnel
Guinan Personnel
I.K.C. Chang Ship
Kivas Fajo Personnel
Locutus of Borg Personnel
Lore Personnel
Miles O’Brien Personnel
Persistence of Memory Artifact
Picard’s Artificial Heart Q Artifact
Qapla! Interrupt
Sisters of Duras Personnel
Spot Personnel
Tallera Personnel
U.S.S. Pasteur Ship
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1.3 STCCG.guide/The Fajo Collection/The Rules

Fajo Collection Rules Supplement

1962 Roger Maris Baseball Card - This artifact works on any other artifacts
which are ìin play during your own turn. (As a clarification, any card on
the table, on the spaceline, just played or just used is ìin play.)
You may not trade Roger Maris for another artifact unless you are able to
immediately play that artifact as your own (this does not count as your
normal card play). Any traded cards are returned to their owners at the end
of the game.

Black Hole - This doorway creates a shrinking universe; it can potentially
absorb the entire spaceline! If the Black Hole ìpulls in the last location
on either end of the spaceline, it stops alternating and continues to pull
in locations from the remaining side. Of course, cards that can close a
doorway (i.e., Revolving Door and DoorNet) can suspend the Black Holeís
game text and, as a result, are not pulled in.

Dixon Hillís Business Card - This interrupt/event has a new feature called
ìdual type. Just as dual-affiliation personnel have only one affiliation at
a time, dual-type cards have only one card type at any given moment. The
controller of the card may choose which type it has at any time (but once
played, the card retains the same type as long as it remains in play). For
example, if Dixon Hillís Business Card is played as an event, it is
vulnerable to Kevin Uxbridge but not to Amanda Rogers.

Oh, by the way- non-gangsters would read this card as follows:

Interrupt: If any personnel (except a Borg) was just killed and there were
no other personnel present, select any other personnel controlled by the
same player. That personnel is captured.

Event: Plays on table. The opponentís next personnel to report for duty must
be universal or a holographic re-creation. Then place this card out-of-play.
(Event is not duplicatable.)

DNA Metamorphosis - This dilemma is currently the only card which places a
personnel in stasis but does not specify a remedy for that condition. In the
episode ìIdentity Crisis, had Geordiís friends been any later with their
rescue, Geordi would have been irretrievably lost. Thus, short of death,
there is presently no way to remove a personnel affected by DNA
Metamorphosis from stasis.

Dr. Soong - The term ìreprogram on this personnel means to modify any
variable features (gender, classification and/or skills) chosen by an
android when it reported for duty. Dr. Soong may replace those
features with any other gender, classification and/or skills present



fajo 3 / 7

(whichever are appropriate). Currently, only Lal and Soong-type Androids
have programmable features. (Note that ìonce each turn means once during
each of your turns only.)

Dr. Soong also has a new ìnemesis icon . Nemesis icons are used to identify
special relationships between characters that inevitably lead to the
destruction of one character at the hand of the other. For example, in the
case of Soong and Lore, if they spend much time together itís a foregone
conclusion that either Soong will deactivate Lore or Lore will kill Soong.

Nemesis icons are also used on ships to identify similar adversarial
relationships (as you will see below). A nemesis relationship is defined by
opposing nemesis icons (two such icons which are the same color but pointing
in different directions). If two or more personnel with opposing nemesis
icons are present with each other at the end of a playerís turn, that player
must choose one of them to be immediately killed.

Guinan - This personnelís special skill of doubling Captainís Log is quite
powerful now that Jean-Luc Picard has those benefits on the U.S.S.
Enterprise. (See the interpretation of Captainís Log in the First Contact
rules supplement.)

I.K.C. Chang - This ship has a new ìnemesis icon (see the entry for Dr.
Soong above). If two or more ships with opposing nemesis icons are present
with each other at the end of a playerís turn, that player must choose one
of them to be immediately destroyed.

Kivas Fajo - An unduplicated artifact present is one that is not
duplicated anywhere in play. (An artifact just earned is not ìpresent
unless it joins the crew or Away Team.) Making ìparallel use of opponentís
Palor Toff means that each time your opponent plays Palor Toff ó Alien
Trader, you must also use that cardís game text, if possible (i.e., you must
retrieve a non-personnel card from your own discard pile). If you play
Countermanda to suspend your opponentís Palor Toff, it does not affect your
discard pile.

Locutus of Borg - This personnel is a ìcounterpart to the Borg Queen, as
defined in the First Contact rules supplement. Locutus is a very powerful
addition to your Borg Collective especially if one of the objectives of
your deck is to assimilate Earth!

Lore - This android has a new ìnemesis icon that defines a special
adversarial relationship with Dr. Soong (see the entry for Dr. Soong above).
The phrase ìDoubles all Rogue Borg and Crystalline Entities in play applies
to both playersí cards and means that the STRENGTH of every Rogue Borg is
doubled and every Crystalline Entity card functions as if it read as
follows:
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Space mission: kills all life on ship unless SHIELDS>12 OR 2 Music aboard.
Planet mission: kills entire Away Team unless 2 SCIENCE and 2 MEDICAL
present.
Discard dilemma. [10 points]

Because cards by default are not cumulative, if you and your opponent both
have a Lore personnel card in play, they do not quadruple Rogue Borg and
Crystalline Entities. However, if Crosis is in play, Lore doubles Rogue Borg
after Crosis has had his own doubling effect (thus quadrupling that
particular group of Rogue Borg).

(As a clarification, the event card Lore Returns in the premiere set uses
the name ìLore in its game text. This is not a reference to the Lore
personnel card but instead is a reference to the event card itself.)

Miles O’Brien - This personnel has a new ìspecial download icon . As
defined in the First Contact rules supplement, this icon basically allows
you, once per game, to search your draw deck, hand, Zalkonian Storage
Capsule and Q’s Tent for one Near-Warp Transport interrupt and immediately
play it.

Persistence of Memory - When you ìreverse a card in the Star Trek
Customizable Card Game, that card has its game text conceptually changed to
work in an opposite way. Sometimes there are multiple interpretations of
what this can mean. Although different interpretations may have equal
validity from a storyline or logic perspective, to ensure consistent
gameplay Decipher establishes an official definition in each case.
The following entries are the official definitions of ìreverse for the
cards affected by Persistence of Memory:

Horga’hn - Artifact allows opponent to take double turns from now on. (Not
cumulative.)

Thought Maker - Look at your draw deck for ten seconds and rearrange as
desired.

Mona Lisa - If destroyed, the opponent of the player directly causing the
destruction (if any) loses points. (Not duplicatable.)

Static Warp Bubble - You must discard one card before ending each turn. (Not
cumulative.)

Kivas Fajo-Collector - Opponent chooses any player to immediately draw three
new cards from the top of their draw deck. Discard event after use.

The Traveler: Transcendence - That playerís opponent must draw one extra
card at the end of each turn. Also, while in play, nullifies Static Warp
Bubble. (Not cumulative.)

Devidian Door - Allows you to send a card ìto the future. Whether or not
you currently have a Devidian Door in your hand, at any time say Devidian
Door and take (from anywhere in play) one of your Personnel or Equipment
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cards to your hand. However, any time during your next turn, you must show
opponent a Devidian Door from your hand and place it out-of-play, or you
lose the game. (Note that you play Persistence of Memory on the Devidian
Door announcement, not when the Doorway card is shown.)

Black Hole - Remains a location with span of 1. Every four full turns,
inserts one new Space location from outside the game (regardless of
out-of-play restrictions). Alternates, first inserting one on your left,
then on your right, and so on. (Not duplicatable.)

Supernova - Remove from mission (discard event). Everything previously
destroyed there remains destroyed except Mission card (which is restored and
may be attempted unless already solved).

Anti-Time Anomaly - Regenerates literally ALL personnel from discard piles
(both playersí cards) at the end of your third full turn, unless anti-time
anomaly destroyed first. Players take turns placing their personnel anywhere
personnel can normally exist in play (regardless of uniqueness and reporting
restrictions).

Picard’s Artificial Heart - This card can be stocked only in your
Q-Continuum side deck. When your opponent experiences it, immediately seed
it under the mission being attempted. Whenever the mission is completed (or
scouted, as defined in the First Contact rules), you the cardís ìowner
always take it into your hand (unlike a normal artifact, which is earned by
the player completing the mission).

Qapla’! - It is rumored that a Qapla’ banner like this one was presented to
the Vulcan ambassador to Qo’noS by Gowron’s eldest nephew. Awarded on the
eve of the Kot’baval Festival, it is one of the highest honors a non-Klingon
can receive for service to the Empire. Qapla’ banners appear throughout
Klingon culture. One example is a valuable gamepiece, bearing words often
attributed to Kahless, in a customizable card game which is sweeping Qo’noS.
In case you don’t have your universal translator handy, here’s how to
decipher this card:

INTERRUPT
SUCCESS!

When threatened, fight. When in doubt, surprise them. Brute strength is not
the most important asset in a fight. Real power is in the heart. A Klingon
does not run away from his battles.

If an opponent attacks you, during that battle your Klingons with Honor add
INTEGRITY to STRENGTH. (Not cumulative.)

Sisters of Duras - This personnel card is dual-affiliation as well as
dual-personnel (two personnel in one card). Dual-personnel cards always
count as two personnel, but only one card. Any result which happens to one
of the individuals on your dual-personnel card automatically happens to the
other, including bonus point adjustments.
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Occasionally, dual-personnel cards cause group limits to be modified. For
example, suppose one or more of your personnel have been selected, either by
choice or randomly, and a limit is in effect (e.g., one personnel, two
strongest members in Away Team, three Youth, maximum of 4 unique crew
members, STRENGTH>27 from up to four Away Team members). If one of your
dual-personnel cards in the group is causing the group limit to be exceeded,
your opponent must choose one of two options: increase the limit to
accommodate the excess, or require that the group selection process be
repeated. However, if the limit is one, it is always increased to two
automatically.

Spot - This extremely independent cat does not recognize anyone (or any
affiliation) as having authority over her, and thus she is Neutral. Although
Neutral is not an affiliation, Neutral cards can work with any
affiliation except Borg. Whenever Spot is not ìpouncing, her STRENGTH is
undefined and thus treated as zero. Like other ANIMALs, she may not attempt
missions alone or staff ships.
Whenever Spot is killed (Pfssst!), if she has any lives remaining she
immediately pops back to life at the same place (Meow!) but is stopped.
Any cards played on Spot (e.g., Mask of Korgano, Brainwash) are not
nullified by her first eight deaths. If Spot dies aboard an outpost or
starship being destroyed (and she has any lives remaining), she comes back
to life in the vacuum of space, only to suffocate and come back to life
again over and over until her remaining lives are gone. Pfssst! Meow!
Pfssst! Meow! Pfssst! Meow!

Tallera - This personnel is the first triple-affiliation card.
Triple-affiliation and dual-affiliation cards are collectively referred to
as ìmulti-affiliation cards.

U.S.S. Pasteur - This ship has special equipment (not a personnel) providing
the equivalent of one MEDICAL skill. This MEDICAL may be used as one of the
seven ìpersonnel types required by the Kurlan Naiskos. The U.S.S. Pasteur
also has a new ìnemesis icon (see the entry for I.K.C. Chang above).

We encourage you to visit Decipher’s web site (www.decipher.com) as your first ←↩
source of

information. Updated daily, it contains a wealth of information including card ←↩
previews,

rules, product information, bulletin boards, tournament information, player ←↩
registry,

contests, special events, a newsflash, and more. Other ways to contact us: * ←↩
Problems or

comments on damaged or misprinted cards, product information, etc.: send email to
ccgcustomerservice@decipher.com. * Rules questions, gameplay feedback, etc.: send
email to q@decipher.com. * Email response system: send email to
emailback@decipher.com with the word CATALOG in the subject line. * Fax response
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system: call 757-N2D-NEWS (757-623-6397). * Or write to us (attention Q or ←↩
customer

service, whichever is appropriate) at Decipher Inc., 253 Granby Street, Norfolk, ←↩
VA

23510-1813 (phone 757-623-3600).

TM & (c) 1997 Paramount Pictures. All Rights Reserved. Used under authorization by
Decipher Inc. TM, ® & (c) 1997 Decipher Inc., P.O. Box 56, Norfolk, VA 23501. All
Rights Reserved. Cards printed in the U.S.A. by PBM. Original gameplay by ←↩

Technical
Game Services. While all gameplay in this collection was developed by Decipher and ←↩

TGS,
the visual image of the Black Hole card was inspired by an idea from one of our ←↩

players,
Helge Blohmer a.k.a. "Wesley Crusher." The image of Persistence of Memory is ←↩

licensed
from and used under authorization of the estate of Salvador Dali (c) 1997 Demart ←↩

Pro Arte,
Geneva / Artists Rights Society (ARS), New York. The image of Roger Maris is ←↩

licensed
from and used under authorization of his estate. The New York Yankees logo is ←↩

licensed
from and used under authorization of Major League Baseball (c) 1997 MLB. No ←↩

product
development assistants were harmed in the production of this collection.
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